Saturday, July 6, 2019


The members and officers of the Shelby Area Democratic Club welcome you to our website. And we welcome you to attend our monthly meetings. Generally the club meets on the third Thursday of each month in the Sutter-Roush Room at 23 East Main Street (Rear) behind the Municipal Utilities Office at 7:00 p.m. Our meetings usually begin with a speaker in an informal, conversational setting. We then have our monthly business meeting. All Democrats and people of goodwill are welcome to attend.

Friday, July 5, 2019

Shelby Area Dems get historic update...

SHELBY – Shelby Historic Preservation Commission chair Patricia Carlisle recently presented an update of the commission’s work to the Shelby Area Democratic Club.  The group met for its monthly meeting on June 20th.
            The commission was created by Shelby City Council in February 2015 by the passage of Ordinance No. 20-2014.  It enacted Codified Ordinance Chapter 1488: “Historic Landmarks and Buildings.”  The commission itself has five members who serve five-year, overlapping terms.
            “We see ourselves as being an advisory group,” explained Mrs. Carlisle.
            The commission’s first task was to get the City of Shelby recognized as a “Certified Local Government” (CLG), which is a partnership of the City, the State Historic Preservation Office, and the National Park Service.  This recognition was given on October 13, 2017.  Since then, the commission worked successfully to receive a CLG Grant.  Proceeds of the grant are currently being used to develop a Historic Preservation Plan.
            Mrs. Carlisle noted that 55 properties in Shelby are listed on the Ohio Historic Register.  Two properties and one district – Most Pure Heart of Mary Church, Marvin Memorial Library, and the Shelby Center Historic District – are on the National Register of Historic Places.  The National Register is the federal government's official list of districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects deemed worthy of preservation for their historical significance.
            The next meeting of the Shelby Area Democratic Club is scheduled for Thursday, July 18th.  It will take place at 7:00 pm in the Sutter-Roush Room, 23 East Main Street.  All area Democrats and persons of good will are invited to attend.

Thursday, May 23, 2019

Truman-Kennedy Society pics...

Appeals Court Judge Earle E. Wise, Jr. delivers the keynote address.

Truman-Kennedy Society president Garland Gates presents the Plain Speaking Award to Mansfield attorney Catherine Goldman and Shelby resident John Makley.
Plymouth resident and historian Doug Dickson (right) accepts the 2019 Profiles in Courage Award from the Truman-Kennedy Society.

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Truman-Kennedy Society holds 12th annual meeting...

SHELBY – The Truman-Kennedy Society gathered in Shelby on Saturday, May 18th for its twelfth annual meeting.  The group was organized in 2008 to perpetuate the memories of Presidents Harry S. Truman and John F. Kennedy, both of whom were born in the month of May.  A large gather of persons from across north-central Ohio attended this year’s gathering.
            The Hon. Earle E. Wise, Jr., a judge on the Fifth District Court of Appeals, delivered this year’s keynote address.  He compared and contrasted the lives of Presidents Truman and Kennedy.  Truman was born into a hardscrabble, Missouri farm family while Kennedy lived a life of wealth and comfort.  Both were veterans: Truman in World War I and Kennedy in World War II.  Both dedicated themselves to lives of public service.  Neither man shrank from tackling the difficult issues that faced both the nation and the world.  While in the White House, both served with honor and integrity.
            The society presented its “Plain Speaking Award” to Shelby resident John Makley and Mansfield attorney Catherine Goldman.  They were honored for “their courage and integrity in speaking out against the Richland County Commissioners’ ill-conceived and poorly-executed ‘plan’ that resulted in the unwarranted removal of mature trees from the courthouse lawn.”
            The Plymouth Area Historical Society received the 2019 “Profiles in Courage Award.”  It was recognized for “its ongoing efforts to preserve the unique history and heritage of the greater Plymouth community and especially its successful campaign to have the Plymouth Historic District placed on the National Register of Historic Places.”  Plymouth resident and historian Doug Dickson accepted the award on behalf of the historical society.

Friday, March 22, 2019

Local Dems visit new firehouse...

Chief Mike Thompson greets local Democrats.
Democrats of all ages enjoyed the tour.
The new firehouse has plenty of space.
Chief Thompson answers Ted Nolen's question.

Shelby Area Dems write "Postcards to Voters"...

Local Democrats diligently write Postcards To Voters for mailing to Wisconsin.

“Postcards to Voters” was on the agenda for the Shelby Area Democratic Club’s recent meeting.  Members Amy and Sean Burns updated local Democrats about this national movement.
            “Postcards to Voters is driving Democrats to vote, making competitive districts,” stated Mr. Burns.  He cited Doug Jones’ and Conor Lamb’s successful congressional races.
            The effort started in April 2017 when John Ossoff ran for Congress in a Georgia special election.  In that race, 1200 volunteers wrote 51,000 postcards.  Since then 59,000 volunteers – including those in Shelby and Richland County – have mailed over 4 million personal, handwritten postcards to Democrats in swing districts.
            Mrs. Burns added, “The national Postcards To Voters movement has completed over 140 campaigns and has nearly 60,000 volunteers.  Most of them are folks who write 5 to 10 cards at a time from home.  It is a great way to stay active and engaged and follow the issues.”
            After a brief business meeting, members got to work and wrote dozens of postcards on behalf of Judge Lisa Neubauer.  She is a candidate for the Wisconsin Supreme Court on April 2nd.

Friday, January 18, 2019

Shelby Area Dems elect officers for 2019...

SHELBY – The Shelby Area Democratic Club recently met for the organization’s annual meeting, as required by the Ohio Revised Code and by the group’s constitution. Members unanimously elected president Garland Gates, vice president Ted Clabaugh, secretary Gail Eckstein, and treasurer Carol Kimmel. All officers will serve a one-year term.

Members honored retiring secretary Rita Scheurer and treasurer Vickie Eichof for their many years of service with a reception.

Monday, December 31, 2018

The origin of the Shelby Area Democratic Club...

For nearly 50 years, the Shelby Area Democratic Club has played an active role in local politics. Here is an excerpt from the group's very first meeting minutes from July 11, 1968:

The first get together of the Shelby Democrats was held on July 11-1968. A picnic at Seltzer Park consisted of a covered dish furnished by each one attending.

Thirty people enjoyed a discussion on the possibility of forming a Democratic club in the Shelby area.

The first officers were elected in September of that year. They were president James Moorehead, first vice president L.D. Ball, second vice president Lonzie McKenzie, recording secretary Mary Stine, and treasurer Thomas Yetzer.

Thanks to those local Democratic pioneers who laid a firm foundation for our club! We owe them a debt of gratitude for a job well done.